Pip Pop's Find

Pip Pop's Find is the first book in new series Prospectors. Ahab and Gert, living on their mining base asteroid Valhalla, realise that their cat Pip Pop's youthfulness is related to goo coming from a crack in the wall of their store room. The goo rejuvenates them, but when they share it with supply ship friend Seumas, and he is captured by space cannibal Sunny Bean, things quickly get scary.

Universal Link


A Tail Tall Tale

A little girl Joan and her cat Sheba imagine why the Manx cat does not have a tail. From the biblical legend of Noah's ark to Sheba's ancestor ship's cat Phee's meeting with space traveller Captain Tobias, will they discover the true story?

Books available in hardback, paperback, ebook and Kindle.


Seordag Stories series of children's picturebooks

Seordag Stories is a series of books about the adventures of a cyborg hen and her friends. Combining storytelling and music, it is inspired by Assynt, in the North West Scottish Highlands, where David Hutchison was brought up. For more info visit Seordag Stories Origins and the Seordag Stories Facebook page

The fiddle music was composed by Joan Hutchison.


Storm Hags

Kirsty and Angus are embarking on a family sailing trip around the world when their parents disappear in a storm and their boat, the Marianne, is shipwrecked. Marooned on the hidden island of Gruinsoye they discover a land full of mystery and menace. A cult of psychics using ancient technology living side by side mythical beings. What should have been the experience of a lifetime suddenly turns into a struggle for survival and escape.

Universal link


The Book of Skulls

Illustrated historical tale of gender-bending, hidden identity, obsession and gruesome murder, set in Edinburgh's Old Town.

1875. Liz Moliette; a poor orphan of unknown heritage, and Amulya Patel; from a wealthy Indian family, are the only female students at the Edinburgh Medical School, where a hostile attitude towards women is driven by Professor Atticus. However Liz and Amulya have allies in fellow student Campbell Preeble, The Reekie reporter Hector Findlay and the charming Dr Paul Love.

In dire need of funds, Liz becomes assistant to gruff lecturer and police surgeon Dr Florian Blyth. When a series of grisly murders take place the doctor and Liz help Inspector Macleod in his investigation, which leads to the Edinburgh Asylum, the Burry Man festival and the quack science of phrenology

The search for the killer comes dangerously close to Liz as she uncovers her own family secrets.

Universal link


The Golden Grain

A selection of fiddle tunes and their origin stories composed by Joan Hutchison. Includes collages and illustrations by David Hutchison. For more info and videos visit the Golden Grain page.

Available on Lulu and Amazon.

© David Hutchison 2022